A Review: “The Lies We Told” by Camilla Way–and this is no lie

Kindle Edition, 336 pages
Expected publication: October 9th 2018 by Berkley
ASIN: B078VW7QSD

Paperback ISBN: 1101989521 (ISBN13: 9781101989524)

Goodreads Synopsis:

The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide…

When Clara’s boyfriend, Luke, disappears, everyone believes that he’s left her, but Clara thinks she knows the truth. Recent evidence suggests that Luke had a stalker, and Clara worries that he’s been kidnapped. Then Luke’s older sister, Emma, who vanished twenty years ago, suddenly reappears.

Emma wants to help Clara with her search for Luke, but she refuses to talk about what happened–even though it nearly destroyed her family when she vanished. And the deeper Clara digs into Luke’s mysterious disappearance, the more convinced she is that the two incidents are connected.

***************************************************************************************

A quick and solid addition to the thriller genre. “The Lies we Told” is a fast-paced story told in dual timelines with enough action to keep veterans of the breed on their toes and enough drama to keep the interest of even those who are only just willing to dip their toes in the proverbial pool.
Perhaps its not my favorite thriller ever, but I was interested enough to break a book slump that had gone on far too long. My own issues with downloading my copy aside, I read the whole book in less than a day, on the tiny screen on my phone–so how’s that for keeping and holding my interest?
Easily a solid 4 stars and I eagerly await any further works by this author.

I received an ARC from Penguin Random House’s First to Read program (many thanks!) and well, you know the drill by now, insert obligatory disclaimer here.

 

Author: These Salt-Stained Pages

I'm . . . A college grad. A writer. An avid reader. An amateur film critic. A thinker. Someone who hates these little 'about me' blurbs with the fiery intensity of a thousand suns. A native speaker of sarcasm. A woman who swears like a sailor, when she wants to, so consider that your only warning. And if none of these facts make it obvious that I'm a cluster of quirks and peculiarities held together by the shredded strings of my sanity and the faded glue made up of societal norms and expectations, then, here it is in plain words: I am myself. And I will never apologize for that.

Leave a comment